2014 in Music

Every New Years Eve, I like to take a look back at the year in terms of music and albums. It never fails to amaze me how many songs have formed my soundtrack to the year! So without further ado, here’s my 2014 in music.

TOP 10 SONGS OF THE YEAR

I haven’t done this before and why I did this to myself I do not know, but I managed to whittle down all of my favourite songs from this year to my ten ultimate favourites! They are as follows (in no particular order):

  1. One Direcion – You & I
  2. Take That – Higher than higher
  3. Coldplay – Magic
  4. Mr Probz & Robin Schulz – Waves
  5. The 1975 – Medicine
  6. The Script – No Good in Goodbye
  7. Jake Bugg – Song about love
  8. Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL – Whitecaps
  9. Ed Sheeran – Afire Love
  10. Usher – Good Kisser

Singles of The Year

  • Take That – These Days
  • Duke Dumont – I got U
  • Mr Probz & Robin Schulz – Waves
  • One Direction – You and I, Steal My Girl, Night Changes
  • The 1975 – Medicine, Heart Out, Settle Down, Robbers
  • Coldplay – Magic, True love
  • Andy Burrows – See a girl
  • Sam Smith – Like I can, Stay with Me
  • Paolo Nutini – Iron Sky
  • The Script – No Good in Goodbye
  • Ella Henderson – Ghost
  • Rita Ora – I will never let you down
  • Taylor Swift – Shake it off
  • London Grammar – Hey now
  • Katy Perry – Birthday, This is how we do
  • Kings of Leon – Temple
  • Michael Jackson & Justin Timberlake – Love never felt so good
  • Bombay Bicycle Club – Feel
  • Usher – Good Kisser
  • Disclosure & Usher – Good Kisser
  • Lana Del Ray – West Coast
  • Bipolar Sunshine – Deckchairs on the moon
  • Benediction – Hot natured
  • Jessie Ware – Tougher love
  • Chromeo – Jealous (I ain’t worth it)
  • Travi$ Scott – Drive (The 1975 Remix)
  • George Ezra – Blame it on me
  • Ten Walls – Walking with elephants
  • Alt-J – Hunger of the pine
  • Wretch 32 – 6 Words
  • Jake Bugg – A Song About Love
  • BBC Music – God only knows
  • Haim – Change your mind
  • Ed Sheeran – Thinking Out Loud, Don’t
  • The Vamps – Somebody To You, Last Night

Albums of The Year

  • The Vamps – Meet the Vamps
  • Take That – III
  • One Direction – Four
  • Ed Sheeran – X
  • Sam Smith – In the lonely hour
  • Coldplay – Ghost Stories
  • Annie Lennox – Nostalgia
  • Taylor Swift – 1989
  • George Michael – Symphonica
  • Charlie Simpson – Long Road Home
  • Begin Again – OST

Album Tracks of The Year

  • Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL – Whitecaps, Tic Tac Toe
  • One Direction – Stockholm Syndrome, Ready to run
  • Take That – Higher and Higher, If you want it, Let in the sun, Portrait, Freeze, Believe, Flaws
  • Ed Sheeran – Bloodstream, Tenerife Sea, Afire Love
  • Sam Smith – I’ve told you now, Leave your lover, Restart
  • Coldplay – Always in my head, 0, Oceans
  • The Vamps – Smile, Move My Way, Another world, Dangerous
  • Mary J Blige – Whole damn year, Long hard look
  • Kylie Minogue – Sexy love, Fine
  • Beck – Morning
  • The Script – Man on wire
  • Ella Henderson – Rockets
Leave a Reply

